No salary increase proposed for Ramaphosa and public office bearers this year

Image credit: Facebook/South African Government

The Independent Commission for the Remuneration of Public Office Bearers has recommended a 0% salary increase for public office bearers (POBs) this year.

In a gazette notice published on Wednesday, Commission chairperson, Judge Monica Leeuw, cited various factors to support the recommendation including the COVID-19 pandemic.

Fiscal condition

She wrote, “The commission has considered the fiscal condition of the country demonstrated in the previous financial years (2018/2019 and 2019/2020), the state’s wage bill and the impact of POBs’ salary increment on the fiscus and general economic status of the country which has been negatively affected by the COVID-19 pandemic, affordability of the fiscus, relevant legislation and all other factors referred to above.”

“As a result, the commission has recommended that there be no increment (0%) to the remuneration of all POBs’ categories.”

POBs include the President, Deputy President, Ministers, Deputy Ministers and Parliament’s presiding officers, chief whips and opposition leaders.

Others include the Chief Justice, Deputy Chief Justice, judges and magistrates, Auditor-General, Public Protector, as well as provincial and municipal office bearers.

Ramaphosa to accept or decline recommendation

It is now up to President Cyril Ramaphosa to accept or decline the commission’s recommendation except for his own salary, which is subject to Parliament’s approval.

Last year, the commission recommended a 3% salary increase for POBs earning more than R1.5 million per annum and 4% increase for those earning less than R1.5 million.

However, Ramaphosa declined to approve the proposed salary increase for POBs earning more than R1.5 million. This meant that the Deputy President, Ministers and Deputy Minister, among others, did not get an increase.

Nevertheless, he approved the proposed increase for those earning less than R1.5 million.

Should Ramaphosa accept the commission’s recommendation this year, Deputy President David Mabuza will continue earning R2,845,470 per annum.

Ministers’ salaries will remain at R2,401,633 and those of Deputy Ministers at R1,977,795. The Speaker of the National Assembly and Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces will also continue earning R2,845,470 per annum each.

Ramaphosa’s salary will also remain at R2,989,845 should Parliament approve.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.